August 1, 2013

  • Xangadu: Much adieu about a hair-do- re-do

         I‘m as happy as everyone else about the ‘rumours of my demise having been exaggerated’ reprieve. I’ve enjoyed reading all the Good-bye Love Letters. Just for that we owe the coders at the Team a big thank-you. I’m hoping the new ‘Look and Feel’ preserves what it is that’s kept me here for 8 years.
    I suppose the only ‘anger’ one might have would be like unto that of a Mother whose kid wandered out into a neighboring park for 8 hours, requiring search teams and helicopters, and of course terrible hours of fearing the worst. For *that* the kid gets a rebuke when he is found.

    It’ll be interesting… very interesting, to see who stays on this site. Financially, paying up, for me at least, translates into two fewer beers a month. My people will be getting together with your people ASAP to discuss whether this is indeed possible.
    Love to all: JS

Comments (21)

  • two fewer beers. for me, personally, that would be a deal breaker, but only because I rely heavily on my legal intoxicants. the whole thing is so mysterious and confusing. on the other hand, it’s great to see they’ve met 103% of their goal, even if the goal is different from the original goal. where is the eyeroll emoticon?? they really need an eyeroll emoticon on xanga 2.0.

  • @ordinarybutloud - Agreed: and as usual, you inspired me with the ‘lost kid’ vignette.
    BTW, I now see all your ‘bears’ in my WP Reader, so disregard my angst. problem was WP spamming me to death with default ‘Follows’ on in-house prompts, etc. What have we brave souls need for prompts. I prompt myself in my sleep. Nice to see you here, dear/ JS

  • I’m happy and confused.

    In other words nothing has changed.  In other words, nothing has changed?  Well, OK, when I grew up there used to be 48 states so 48 isn’t JUST a number, but if that’s the only change, well, yeah, that’s kind of annoying.

    I dunno.  With each passing second, my happiness seems to drop and my confusion seems to rise, and then they go the other way, and then the other way back again.

  • Yay! You Twain!

  • I’ve enjoyed Xanga since I started here in 2005, but moving over to WP and also linking up with friends on Facebook would have given me what I want just as well, especially since my kids left Xanga a couple of years ago. I feel sadder about their absence than I do about Xanga’s potential demise.

    And now suddenly, nothing has changed and we’re still here.

  • I think it was time for a little change…without change we’d all be living in the 60′s…hummmm… I rather enjoyed the 60′s =)))

  • I have missed you.

  • Solberg, you tower above the competing beasts like a giraffe in a circus parade, except for the 40 foot whooping crane.

    Also, I agree. It’ll be interesting to see what happens.

  • Great analogy: you yell and him and hug him at the same time. Frankly, now that the drama seems to be over (seems, I say), I can say that I had some fun and learned some things. I may leave WordyPress altogether.

  • Yes I agree… great analogy! I am taking one day at a time. I am a patient kind of person. No need to hurry anything,. I am already too old!

  • @ZSA_MD - You are so sweet! Makes one almost pray for a disease in your specialty, for a chance to meet you. (God forbid!) wish I knew how that’s said in arabic.
    Zakiah, I wish you easy fasts, delicious iftar-in .. and many years on our beloved mother-site here.

  • @whyzat - yes, you reminded me; I’d seen your presence there, and need to click the silly ‘I will follow him… wherever she may go/ no mountain’s too high… etc’ Button. Seriously, had the WP ‘guts’ fitted into my hand like, say, a 1967 MG-B sports-car I would have known it by now. Continuing on the auto-metaphor, I also owned a ’71 MG-B. Call it MG-B 2.0, and I hated so many little things about it. Let’s pray that the wise elders don’t ‘destroy Xa in order to save it’, like Viet Nam.

  • @Lakakalo - We are all watching the fish. From all four corners of the globe, ha

  • @sonnetjoy - And I, you dear, also. Your reports from the innards of the learnin’ bizness are scarred into my memory. Do yer best to stick with the elite here, who know what’s good.

  • @mlbncsga - That ‘stuck in ’67′ thought troubled my sleep last night after I read it. How we managed w/o cell-phones and Google is a great mystery.
    And yes, a revolution from time to time. Jefferson?

  • @Roadkill_Spatula - No worry, your kids can be lured back with chocolate … or other treats, ha
    Tim, at about 5PM almost every evening I resolve to try to make WP into my comfy new home. By 7, without fail, I’ve already decided ‘to sleep, perchance to dream’. Can’t argue with the decisions of my Inner Child.
    If the re-incarnate Xanga turns into an unworkable monstrosity at any price, well, then I’ll in fact do the half-staff. Until then, hope springs eternal

  • @sleekpunk - Yup, Clemmens in the flesh. let’s also try on “When all you got is a nicely worded post, everything you see looks like a Xanga.” (I think he said that about a hammer and a nail, but hey, I’m early-onset Alz here

  • @twoberry - hey thanks a lot. I dreamed all night about arranging stars of flags. 49 (7X7), 50 (5X10),
    Even 51, oddly, is three rows of 19. 52 is cool too. I just don’t want to ever live in a country with 53 states.
    Seriously, we’ll get through this, Bob. Just like the three too many Bush administrations.

  • @jsolberg -  Your full-blown Alzheimers will still be better than my best state of mind.

  • @jsolberg -  yup – with the blood of patriots and tyrants

  • @jsolberg - Heheh…Fish and giraffes. And 40 feet whooping cranes. :P

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *